Event Calendar
Prev MonthPrev Month Next MonthNext Month
Free GITA Webinar: Detecting, Surveying, and Sharing Location Information About Underground Infrastructure, with Geoff Zeiss
Tuesday, September 24, 2019, 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM MST
Category: Webinar

Free GITA Webinar: Detecting, Surveying, and Sharing Location Information About Underground Infrastructure, with Geoff Zeiss

  • What: Free GITA Webinar - register today
  • Date: Sept. 24, 2019
  • Time: 2 p.m. Eastern, 1 p.m. Central, noon Mountain and 11 a.m. Pacific
  • Who: Geoff Zeiss, Principal, Between The Poles

In the United States there are 400,000 reported cases of underground utility damage. Over the past 20 damaging underground utilities during construction has resulted in hundreds of deaths, thousands of injuries, and a drag of at least $50 billion on the economy. Among the biggest causes of highway construction project delays are unknown or inaccurately known underground utility infrastructure.

More cities, regions and countries are beginning to see the value of a national digital twin of the underground. Paradoxically information about underground infrastructure is (repeatedly) captured, but it is rarely shared. In the last few years there have been important advances in meeting two challenges relating to the underground; advances in remote sensing technology to detect of location of underground utilities and new government policies, often targeted on the surveying community, and systems to enable to sharing of information about utilities exposed during construction.

The latest reality capture technologies for geolocating underground infrastructure are making it easier to detect and map underground infrastructure. The development of standards and policies for sharing underground infrastructure location information is progressing in a number of jurisdictions in North America, Europe and Asia.

This presentation will focus on why the time is right for ramping up the discussion about how we detect, survey, record, and share information about underground infrastructure

About Geoff Zeiss

Geoff Zeiss has more than 20 years experience in the geospatial software industry and 15 years experience developing enterprise geospatial solutions for the utilities, communications, and public works industries. His particular interests include the convergence of BIM, CAD, geospatial, and 3D. In recognition of his efforts to evangelize geospatial in vertical industries such as utilities and construction, Geoff received the Geospatial Ambassador Award at Geospatial World Forum 2014. Currently Geoff is Principal at Between the Poles, a thought leadership consulting firm. 

Register today

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.